Beitrag

Project

Since 1994 there have been various initiatives to save the remains of the 750-year-old church from complete decay. With the "Ikareum - Lilienthal Flight Museum”, the famous and internationally recognised pioneer of flight, engineer and visionary of global air travel and of “eternal peace” will have a worthy memorial in his baptismal church. The Otto Lilienthal Museum will move to its new location here in the centre of the Lilienthal-Town of Anklam.

Architects

The firm of heneghan peng architects, which has been engaged by the town via a tendering process, has extensive experience in museum building and working with world heritage sites. The company was formed in 1999 by Shih-Fu Peng and Róisín Heneghan in New York, with its main office since 2001 in Dublin, and with a subsidiary in Berlin since 2011.

St Nicholas‘ church

With its original spire height of 103 metres, the church was amongst the largest in the Hanse region.  For centuries, the tower had acted as a sea navigation mark visible from far away, in the skyline of the town. On the last day of the war in Anklam, on the 29th April 1945, the church became the victim of shelling by the retreating German army.  The church tower, in flames from the shelling, fell through the roof into the nave.  From then the church was a ruin, unused for 50 years.

Beitrag

Das Projekt

Seit 1994 gibt es Initiativen zur Rettung der Reste der 750-jährigen Kirche vor dem völligen Verfall. Mit dem "Ikareum - Lilienthal Flight Museum" wird dem großen internationalen Pionier der Luftfahrt, dem Techniker und Visionär eines weltumspannenden Luftverkehrs und des "ewigen Friedens" nun in seiner Taufkirche ein würdiges Denkmal gesetzt. Das Otto-Lilienthal-Museum wird hier seinen neuen Standort im Zentrum der Lilienthal-Stadt beziehen.

Igor I. Sikorski

... it is proper to pay tribute to one of the greatest pioneers of all times, Otto Lilienthal. His achievements are unique and outstanding. The fact that no successful attempts of human flight were ever before reliably recorded is due, not to any general conditions of technique or engineering, but mainly to the absence of a man capable of visualizing and correctly solving the problem.

Igor I. Sikorski, 1938

Das Museum

Das Museum hat seitdem verschiedentlich auf sich aufmerksam gemacht: 1996 wurde es durch die "Fédération Aéronautique Internationale" als "FAI rocognized Museum" geehrt und erhielt 1999 als erstes ostdeutsches Museum den Titel "European Museum of the Year Award - Special Commandation". Seit 2001 ist das Museum in die Liste der Museen von gesamtstaatlicher Bedeutung des „Blaubuches“ der Bundesregierung aufgenommen.

Die Nikolaikirche

Mit ihrer ursprünglichen Turmhöhe von 103 Metern gehörte die Kirche zu den größten des Hanseraums. Über Jahrhunderte prägte der Turm als Seezeichen schon von Weitem die Silhouette der Stadt. Am letzten Anklamer Kriegstag, dem 29. April 1945, wurde die Kirche Opfer des Beschusses der sich zurückziehenden Wehrmacht. Der in Brand geschossene Kirchturm stürzte durch das Dach in das Kirchenschiff. Seitdem war die Kirche Ruine und über 50 Jahre ungenutzt.

Turmaufstieg

Die Nikolaikirche ist bis zum 12. Mai 2018 nur auf Voranmeldung und zu Veranstaltungen geöffnet. Ab Sonntag, dem 13. Mai 2018 (Internationaler Museumstag) ist die Kirche wieder täglich von 10 bis 17 Uhr geöffnet. Während dieser Zeiten ist auch der Turmaufstieg möglich (letzter Aufstieg 16Uhr30).

 

Wilbur Wright

He was without question the greatest of the precursors, and the world owes to him a great debt.

Er war ohne Zweifel der größte unserer Vorgänger und die Welt steht tief in seiner Schuld.

recognition of Otto Lilienthal, 1912